Six including Ravi Shankar Prasad elected to Rajya Sabha unopposed

Posted March 16, 2018

A straight contest is in the offing between the BJP and the Congress for the lone Rajya Sabha seat from Chhattisgarh as the candidates of both the parties stayed put today, which was the last day for withdrawal of nominations.

The candidates who have now made it to Rajya Sabha from Gujarat include Union ministers Purushottam Rupala and Mansukh Mandavia from BJP and former Union minister of state for railways Naran Rathwa and Ami Yagnik from Congress.

Three candidates each from National Democratic Alliance (NDA) and RJD led Grand Alliance had filed their nomination papers for six seats falling vacant on April 02 paving the way for election of all six candidates unopposed to Rajya Sabha.

European Union tells Britain to 'face up to hard facts' on Brexit
It urged Theresa May and the remaining 27 European Union leaders to agree a "status quo" transition period after Brexit next year. The suggestion that the Irish border is a European issue was heckled by one MEP, who shouted: "It is a British issue".

BJP took up this issue with the Election Commission through senior party leaders and sought disqualification of the Congress candidate's bid to contest Upper House polls.

Political sources revealed that after it became clear the ruling ally Shiv Sena was unlikely to spare its extra 20 votes to enable Rahatkar's election, the BJP decided against taking a risk and withdrew her candidature. In the house of 182 legislators, BJP has a strength of 99 against the opposition Congress party's 77. The minimum first preference votes required by a candidate was 37.

"Maharashtra State Commission for Women chairperson Vijaya Rahatkar has withdrawn from the fray", the state's Parliamentary Affairs Minister Girish Bapat said.

How the box office made history this weekend
Dropping 52% in attendance to $8.1 million, the film was knocked it into the #4 spot. If our beliefs paralyze us from participating in the systems, what good are they?

Fortunately for the Congress, its nominee Rathwa's papers were found to be valid ensuring that he remained in the fray as its official candidate. While the party has comfortable numbers to elect two of its candidates, it is dependent on the support of JD (S) rebel MLAs and independent candidates to elect its third candidate.

The candidates elected to the Rajya Sabha from Maharashtra this time are BJP's Narayan Rane, Prakash Javadekar and Kerala leader V Muralidharan.

Rane quit the Shiv Sena in 2005 and later joined the Congress. The BJP, with its tally of 122 in the Assembly, is poised to get three RS seats now, while the Sena, the Congress and the NCP will get one each.

Charles Barkley, Dick Vitale rip into Oklahoma's selection for NCAA tournament
There was a common thread between some of the biggest snubs in this year's NCAA Tournament, one that seems to make a lot of sense. But they also played tournament teams in Wichita State, Arkansas, Texas A&M and the aforementioned Florida State.